Daisy Daisy

 

At the weekend, we decided to drive to a nice little country location and take some snaps of my latest made-by-me ensemble. The pattern for the dress is based on an original 1940’s housedress (which I literally wore to death, and towards the end of it’s life was covered in moth-holes). So, as the original dress was pretty much no longer wearable, I decided to take a pattern from it, so I could re-make it in brand new fresh fabrics. The pattern needed some tweaking, the pleats at the front proved a bit too full in volume, so I made the pleats smaller and sewed them flat up to the bustline. I decided to add daisy-print piping around the armholes, which also matched the tie belt at the waist.

And.. the bolero! This was based on an original 1949 pattern which I picked up from Ebay. Again, this pattern had issues that needed to be addressed. At one point I felt like giving up altogether and finding a different pattern entirely, but I decided to preserve on the grounds that I simply adored the lapels! And boy, I was glad I did. I re-drafted the pattern, made alterations, made a toile to check the fit, then went ahead and cut into top-fabric. The fabric by-the-way, is an 100% cotton print from a fabric shop in Lewes (I think it’s called the Stitchery). The original pattern called for the sleeves to be 3/4 length, but as this is a Summer bolero, I decided to make them short-sleeved instead.

And, one final note, I must talk about the hat.. I found this hat on Etsy, and the minute I saw it I fell in love with it. It was only after doing some research that I realised it is an original American 1930’s straw Halo hat, which are pretty rare! I love thinking about the glamorous ladies who would have worn it before me, I like to think I am giving it a new lease of life. The gloves I again found on Ebay (I was fully expecting someone to outbid me, but luckily I was the highest bidder!) It’s rare for me to find gloves that fit, as I am a 7.5, with most vintage gloves being 6.5/7. Again, luckily for me these are a 7.5.

Anyway, I am hoping/trying to be a bit better with keeping up to date here, so (hopefully) expect more posts soon!

Jenny x

One last cheeky shot..

