Pastels, Luxulite & Lilac Capri’s

Along with pretty much every other ‘vintage’ girl out there, I have been lusting after a Luxulite brooch for a veery long time. When I say long, I mean over a year. Why have I waited thus long to bag myself one you may well ask? Well, because: I am an extremely indecisive person, and faced with numerous beautiful colour combinations, I simply could not choose which I wanted to own more! Also, Luxulite brooches do not hang around for long, the minute Katy (the founder) posts her latest creations on her Instagram account, some of them are sold only a few minutes later!

So, when I finally managed to nab this one, I was a very happy bunny indeed. I settled on this pastel confetti Lucite brooch, as I love pastel colours and thought this brooch might encourage me to wear pastels more often.

Fuelled by my love of pastels, I decided to make a pair of lilac capri pants to wear with my new brooch (I also made a pale blue pencil skirt, which I wore to the Classic Car Boot Sale, see this post here). The pattern for the capri pants is adapted from an original early 1960’s pattern, so has a wonderful high waist with flattering darts and tapers down to a skinny leg. I finished the inside hems with bright magenta binding; as I intended to wear the capri’s rolled up, so I wanted to show off the bright hems!

For these pictures, I attempted a beehive ‘do, but I’ll admit I did it in less than 15 minutes, so it was pretty messy!

*Side note* My nail polish is by Miss Sporty which I purchased about a year ago. I dubiously applied it thinking it would be too thin/not the consistency I wanted/etc, but it was AMAZING. It was £1 when I brought it, the colour was extremely vibrant, and – it lasted over 2 full days without a single chip! Which for me is an accomplishment, as usually I manage to chip my nail polish 3 hours after I have applied it, even expensive brands like Nails Inc. It also came off easily, and DIDN’T STAIN my nails. A-MA-ZING. So, in case you haven’t gathered; I highly recommend Miss Sporty nail polishes!

Until next time dear readers!

One thought on “Pastels, Luxulite & Lilac Capri’s

Share Your Thoughts:

