An Era of a Different Kind

As much as I adore the fashions and styles of the 1930’s-1950’s; I also like to explore other eras. I just love studying and researching different styles, one can never stop learning or amass too much knowledge in my view. Lately, as I briefly alluded to in this post, I have been drawn to the latter part of the 1960’s. I’m not talking pencil skirts, I’m talking cute little mini mod dresses, the likes of such Twiggy would be proud to wear.

So I started looking around, researching, pinning images via Pinterest and generally gathering inspiration. I found Sarah’s blog – Style Sixties, and Catherine’s blog – Sewing the Sixties both fabulous blogs to settle down to; to have a good read (and admire these ladies fabulous sense of style!).

I found a cute little sewing pattern, which does not have a date but I would make an educated guess at 1968, from a seller on Ebay and got sewing! I was drawn to the pattern, as it has a few different variations, but mostly – the scalloped hem & scalloped sleeves! I mean, HOW SUPER CUTE! I don’t quite know why, but I do have a tendency to fall madly in love with a pattern/garment if it has even a hint of a scallop. (Yes, I know that is a bit odd..)

Anyway, I decided this would be my ‘Christmas Dress’ and made it up in a cute red and purple tartan. I actually planned to make it in deep red velvet, but I was really uninspired by all the velvet I saw in my local fabric shops, and didn’t want to buy velvet online, so I settled for the tartan instead.

I have the scalloped hem (which is a bit overwhelmed by the strong tartan pattern, but hey-ho), and the cute little scalloped sleeves. I omitted a collar, as to be honest, I simply couldn’t make my mind up – to collar, or not to collar? Anyway, I have lots of peter-pan collared blouses (the upside of being completely flat-chested – you can shop in the kids section of stores for blouses that fit!) so I can wear the dress with a blouse underneath, as I did here.

As I usually wear nipped-in waisted garments, this was a total change for me, but a very pleasant and liberating one. I felt very ‘free’ whilst wearing this dress, and it actually would be pretty good for Christmas day if I felt like eating a truck-load of food – as no tight waistline!

The pattern was a breeze to work through, although if I make this dress again, I will take it in a bit (especially at the chest area) for a better fit. I did alter the length of the hem by a good few inches, as when I measured the pattern vs me, it would have turned out knee-length, which I felt would have been too long. I’m glad I didn’t shorten it more than I did, as look at the above picture – any higher and it would have been rather un-ladylike!

This style is certainly very different for me, but the overall verdict? I think a big thumbs-up!

Until next time dears!

6 thoughts on “An Era of a Different Kind

  1. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you Jenny & Courtney! I have had those tights for years (I have a big stash of coloured tights & stockings) and I just thought the colours ‘popped’ quite well together. Definitely looking forward to making a few more of these dresses in different colour-ways!
    Jenny xx

  2. Jessica Cangiano says:

    You look awesome!!! I’ve been feeling a pull towards certain 1960s fashions myself a lot in recent months (chiefly those uber feminine ones that held onto vestiges of the 50s in the early years of the decade). I think it’s important to play around and step outside of one’s usual decade(s) at least once in a while. It keeps things fresh and can, I find, actually help inspire you when it comes to your more common era (for example, with mixing colours that might be common in one decade, but not in another and seeing how great they look in the less common one, too).

    ♥ Jessica

  3. Janey says:

    I love stepping to eras I don’t do very often too, and like you, the 60s is one of them.

    I adore the hem on this dress and you totally rock this look!

    xoxo
    -Janey

Share Your Thoughts:

