Destination: 2015

Hello lovelies! I do hope you all had a wonderful Christmas, filled with joy and surrounded by your nearest and dearest.

Towards the end of the year, I like to look ahead to the coming year to plan exciting dates for my calendar! I also think it’s important to always have something to look forward to and get excited about, as we all have days when we feel a bit low or our health condition is particularly bad, so it’s nice to have fun things to focus on.

As I’m obviously writing this in December 2014, I’m sure as the year of 2015 gets underway, there shall be more exciting dates for ones diary, that currently are yet to reveal themselves.

2015 is set to be a big year for me, as I have a very significant birthday! I make no disguise of my age, in January I shall be turning 30 years-young! As I have had various health-issues and struggles both in the past and presently, I am immensely proud that my body has endured all I have thrown at it, and I shall be very content to hit the big 3-0.

Anyway, onto the exciting dates for the diaries! *Apologies to international readers, I’m afraid most of these events/exhibitions are in the UK, sorry about that my dears!*

Television & Film

Life In Squares I’m rather looking forward to the BBC’s dramatization of the Bloomsbury Group, which focuses on Virginia Woolf’s relationship with her sister Vanessa.

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies Even though I have yet to read Seth Grahame-Smith’s take on the Austen classic, I am rather curious about this, with the cast listing including Matt Smith, Lily James & Suki Waterhouse, it certainly looks promising.

Cinderella Another film starring Lily James, I am extremely excited about this! After watching the trailer I audibly squeaked with excitement when Cate Blanchett steps out of her carriage (as the Step-Mother) with a cat on a leash! The costumes look incredible, a pastiche of 1940’s, 1830’s and 18th century expertly blended together by Sandy Powell. Read more on the costumes here.

 Art & Exhibitions

Alexander McQueen Savage Beauty at the V & A As an avid admirer of costume, clothing and fashion; how could I not get excited about this? Running from the 14th March – 19th July, I shall be booking my tickets imminently!

 Fashion on the Ration This exhibition curated by the Imperial War Museum London, marks the 70th anniversary of the end of the Second World War. With over 300 exhibits; including clothing, artwork, photographs, letters and more, this promises to be a most insightful visit. From 5th March – 31st August.

 Addressing Alice: The Emergence of a Style Icon, 1865-1900 To mark the 150th anniversary of Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, 2015 sees a number of Alice themed events. This exhibition explores the clothing that Alice is portrayed in, both in Carroll’s narrative and in John Tenniel’s illustrations. 2nd May – 26th September at the Museum of Childhood.

Alice’s Adventures Underground An interactive production, set in the Vaults beneath London’s Waterloo station, audience members form their own experience by selecting ‘Eat Me’ or ‘Drink Me’ at the beginning of the show. There is storytelling, puppetry, circus and music, all in the atmospheric setting of the Vaults. Throughout April 2015.

 Shoes: Pleasure and Pain It’s an exhibition about shoes. Need I say more? At the V&A from 13th June – 31st January 2016.

Love is Enough An exhibition exploring the parallels between the works of Andy Warhol & William Morris. Birmingham Museum & Art Gallery April 2015 – August 2015.

Riviera Style: Resort & Swimwear since 1900 An exhibition displaying 100 years of swimwear & leisurewear – sarongs, bikini, palazzo pants and more. This will certainly have me dreaming of summer holidays! From 22nd May – 30th August, Fashion & Textile Museum.

Georgians: Dress for Polite Society Featuring over 30 original eighteenth century garments, alongside modern day items by leading fashion designers. At the Fashion Museum Bath, now until 1st January 2016.

Reading & Magazines

Betty Magazine Having recently discovered this girlie gem of a magazine, I was sad to discover there would be no Winter issue. But, the Spring issue is promising to be bigger and better. I for one, can’t wait!

The Paying Guests – Sarah Waters  Yes, I know this one has been out for a few months now, but I still have not managed to get my eager hands on a copy. I actually decided to be a bit thrifty and reserve this book at my local library, rather than purchase it. But, the waiting list was so astronomically long, that 4 months later, my reservation expired and I was shifted to the back of a 300 person-long queue.

The Gracekeepers – Kirsty Logan Released on 7th May, this book looks truly magical. Telling the tale of two women, North and Callenish, whose lives upon the tumultuous sea brings them together. North lives on a circus boat with her beloved bear and circus troupe for company, whilst Callenish lives in isolation in her house astride the middle of the ocean.

Shows & Dance

The Great Gatsby – Northern Ballet Showing in London & Norwich, I’m rather intrigued as to how the story would lend itself to the ballet format. Opens in London 24th March – 28th March, Norwich 14th April – 18th April.

The Car Man – New Adventures This ballet first had it’s debut back in 2000, but is being revived for a new tour in 2015. I am a big admirer of Matthew Bourne’s work, so I would love to see this version of Bizet’s opera Carmen. From 16th April – 9th August, various venues across the UK.

I think that will probably be enough dates to keep your diaries ticking-over in 2015! Are there any events you are particularly looking forward to in the new year?

Wishing each and every one of you a truly wonderful 2015,

See you in the new year dears!

2 thoughts on “Destination: 2015

  1. Cate says:

    Oh my word, Cinderella looks incredible! I cannot wait to see that. Love that Daisy from Downton is one of the ugly sisters. She’s such a great character actress.
    I’d already added Fashion on a Ration to my calendar but will definitely add the Shoes: Pleasure and Pain too. That’s got to be something I’d enjoy!

  2. Taylor Phoenix says:

    My goodness – there is so much to see and do without looking any further into these, several links have been bookmarked already – thank you so much for sharing!

    I hope the New Year brings everything you want 😉

Share Your Thoughts:

