As Time Goes By

As I write (or to be more precise, type) this; it’s 0 degrees centigrade outside, with glorious sunshine. I love days like this, the ground crunches underfoot with frost, and the sun emits a gorgeous peachy glow over everything. As I woke-up early this morning, I decided to jump on my bicycle and go on my favourite route, along the seafront towards Worthing. I find the beach huts just look so pretty, and of course the lure of the sea is hard to resist. I often take this route when I feel I need to mull things over in my mind and get some fresh air (and believe me, the air was very fresh straight off the sea!)

In less than 48 hours, I shall turn 30. I am not in the slightest perceiving this in a negative way, rather the opposite, I feel incredibly proud of my body and mind to have got me to this point. It actually feels like a victory! I often feel as a society we perceive ageing as a bad thing, usually based on superficial menial reasons that really do not matter.

Me on my 4th birthday. I look decidedly unimpressed by that toy goat..

Admittedly, it has taken me a while to arrive at this way of thinking. I admit that of course I take care over my appearance, and yes, like everyone else, I still worry what people think of me. But, just for a moment, allow yourself to forget other people. Just concentrate on you. Allow yourself to evaluate your body thoroughly – think ‘wow, these legs carried me across x amount of miles’ or ‘my arms allow me to lift and carry those heavy things’. Your lungs let you breathe in the fresh air. You can feel the sun on your cheeks. Celebrate these little victories, because those are the things that matter, not other peoples un-informed perception of you – which, remember is from the outside. They have no idea what it is like to tread the earth in your shoes, or how your past experiences have shaped you into the person you are now.

Yes, sometimes my body is my enemy (with the recent diagnosis of a chronic condition), and yes, when I am in intense pain I hate my body (as would most people I imagine when in intense pain). But, overall I listen to my body, give it what it needs and look after myself.

So, I shall turn 30 with a massive smile on my face, my beloved by my side, and look forward to entering my next decade!

Until next time dears xx

6 thoughts on “As Time Goes By

  1. Gemma says:

    Wonderfully put. I couldn’t agree more.

    It is an accomplishment to continue growing and developing as a person, with each passing year we learn so much. I am quite sure this is why we even celebrate birthdays, to look at what we have achieved so far and to look forward to what may be just around the corner!

    And it is with continuous grace and marvellousness that you turn 30, dear Jenny, and I wish you all the birthday wishes in the world : )

  2. retro rover says:

    Great post! Aging should be celebrated. I am turning 37 soon and so far I have loved my 30s. Sure sometimes I wish I had a few less wrinkles but I am very lucky to have come this far. I feel like the vintage style world is often devoid of those over 30 and that does depress me. I plan to wear my vintage looks for as long as Im on this earth

    retro rover

  3. Jenny Frances says:

    I shall certainly continue wearing vintage for many many years to come! I really feel that with each day that I am on earth is a blessing, so each day/month/year that passes is a gift, not a curse. I’m planning on wearing vintage style head-to-toe if I live to be 90! 🙂 xx

Share Your Thoughts:

