Birthday Weekend

As I previously mentioned in this post, I had my 30th birthday last week. A few days prior to ‘the big day’; my beloved other half Kieren told me that we would be going away for a few nights to.. a mystery location! Cue lots of excitement mixed with packing-related-anxiety; which I solved by deciding to pack pretty much everything! So, Thursday morning, we loaded up the car and off we went. I could only rely on my terribly poor geographic knowledge as to where we were going, and from reading the road signs, I could see we were heading East along the coast. It wasn’t until we actually arrived and Kieren said ‘we’re here!!’ that I realised we were in the beautiful town of Rye.

Now at this point, I was extremely excited, as over the Christmas period, we had watched the BBC drama ‘Mapp & Lucia’. For anyone that missed it, ‘Mapp & Lucia’ is an utterly charming comedy drama, set in the 1930s. Based on EF Benson’s novels, the plot centres on the themes of village gossip and rivalry, in particular between two of the women in the village. I scrutinised the listings as the closing credits rolled, madly trying to see where the series was filmed, to discover Rye as the main location.

So, cue a few weeks later, and there we were in Rye!

We stayed in an absolutely breath-taking private manor house, the likes of which usually only exist in ones dreams. Needless to say, I highly recommend Saltcote Place, I cannot put into words how amazing the house is!

We took the opportunity of taking quite a lot of photographs whilst we were there, so expect to hear more about the house in blog posts over the next few weeks. Similarly, we took lots of snaps of Rye town itself, which I also have lined-up as future blog posts.

For my actual birthday, I wore a dress I had made by Toprunway on Ebay as a Christmas treat. I added the collar detail to make the dress a little bit more personalised and ‘me’. I had the dress made to measurements I submitted to them in the summer, as I had a suit made by them (blog post on that to come soon too); but I have lost about 1 & a half stone since then, so the dress is a little big. But, I thought I would have it made to those measurements so that if I put the weight back on (as I do expect to as my body is freaking out at the moment and is not usually this skinny) then the dress will still fit.

Thank you to everyone who wished me many returns on my birthday, either via Facebook, Instagram or here, your words warmed my heart!

Until next time dears x

5 thoughts on “Birthday Weekend

  1. Cate says:

    What a beautiful dress! It’s good to hear of someone who has ordered a bespoke dress from eBay and got what they wanted as you hear so many horror stories of those that go wrong. I will definitely check Toprunway out. I’m glad you had a wonderful birthday and your lovely man sure knows how to treat yo well!! x

  2. Jenny Frances says:

    I definitely recommend Toprunway, I have ordered from them twice; and had a great experience on both occasions. I might just have to get another suit soon.. 🙂 xxx

  3. Gemma says:

    Jenny you look lovely!! What a gorgeous colour dress and the collar detailing is just perfect! Glad you had a great birthday : )

    Gemma

Share Your Thoughts:

