After Dark Wanderings

She walks in beauty, like the night
Of cloudless climes and starry skies;
And all that’s best of dark and bright
Meet in her aspect and her eyes:
Thus mellow’d to that tender light
Which heaven to gaudy day denies.

Lord Byron, 1813.

 

A while ago, I purchased a beautiful powder blue satin corset from UK based company Vollers. Unfortunately, due to my health condition, I can hardly ever wear it, which is such a shame. Years ago, I was an avid corset-wearer, and would wear my underbust corset all-day; everyday for 9 hours. Not so anymore my friends.

So, when I am able to wear it, I usually wear it under clothing whilst I am working (as it actually really helps with my terrible ‘hunched over the sewing machine like a Grimm’s fairytale old lady’ posture). Even so, I usually only get to wear it once every 6 weeks or so. I was able to wear it more often when I was ‘seasoning’ it, so it is comfortably formed to my shape now. One lovely observation I heard about corsets came from when I worked in a high-end lingerie boutique; a customer described wearing one as – ‘having a really nice hug all day long’, which is precisely how a well-fitting corset should make you feel.

There are lots of places online one can gain information about corsets and the art of corset-wearing, for corset seasoning click here, for information on waist training from the wonderful Rachel of Chicago Chic blog click here.

There are various places in the UK to purchase corsets from, I recommend Axfords in Brighton – you can buy online or make an appointment to visit their lovely studio, Michael is very friendly and informative. Vollers based in Portsmouth, I purchased my corset online and their customer service was wonderful. Also of course, What Katie Did, although their corsets don’t work as well on my frame. Then there are lots of wonderfully talented independent corsetieres like Sparklewren, Valkyrie, Charlotte Raine, and further afield RetroFolie.

I usually favour an underbust style of corset; as that is personally the style that suits my frame the most. I am wearing my corset with a pair of Victorian inspired bloomers which I made, and a vintage slip.

And, no, I don’t make a habit of wandering around old houses in my undergarments.. or do I? ..

Until next time dears!

3 thoughts on “After Dark Wanderings

  1. Janey says:

    That is exactly how I feel about corsets! It’s like a hug!

    The color of your corset is gorgeous!

    I often wear mine when on the computer, but hadn’t given much thought to it when sewing! Such a good idea!

    xoxo
    -Janey

  2. Jenny Frances says:

    It definitely improves my posture when sewing! Although sometimes if I am feeling particularly lazy, I will leave it off with the intention of slouching (and if I want to sit eating chocolate!) 🙂

Share Your Thoughts:

