Fashion On The Ration – Beneath The Seams Of WW2

On Wednesday night, Kieren & I were amongst the lucky few who were invited to attend the private view of The Imperial War Museum’s latest exhibition: Fashion on the Ration. Seven days prior to this, my health condition flared-up in the most horrific way; and I was keeping everything crossed that I would still be able to make it to the exhibition. Luckily, by Tuesday I slowly started to feel a bit better, and by Wednesday, I was almost back to my normal eating habits (although I still couldn’t stomach drinking tea – which for me is pretty jaw-dropping).

So, rather gingerly, I got myself ready and prepared to do my ‘beauty as duty’ and attend the exhibition. Upon arrival, we were ushered up to the forth floor’s roof terrace, where drinks & DJing from the Vintage Mafia greeted us.

The exhibition was divided into six different sections: Into Uniform, Functional Fashion, Rationing & Make do & Mend, Utility Clothing, Beauty as Duty, and Peace and a New Look.

I have written a full report over on The Vintage News website (as in case you didn’t know, I work for the Vintage News), and lots more pictures from the exhibition can be viewed over there too.

My personal highlights of the exhibition include: an original Siren Suit (shown above), newspaper articles depicting luminous paint to apply to hair flowers and hats during the Blackouts, ALL the lingerie on display, basically – the whole exhibition was a highlight if I’m honest!

In-keeping with the 1940s theme; I found this wonderful fashion film showcases some divine designs (of which I want them all!) on Jessica’s Vintage Link Love post on her blog; Chronically Vintage.

 

 

If you are able, I highly recommend paying a visit to see the exhibition, I walked around it twice – both times with a smile of pure wonder & joy on my face!

Visit Fashion on the Ration at the Imperial War Museum London, Lambeth Road, SE1 6HZ from March 5th until 31st August 2015.

4 thoughts on “Fashion On The Ration – Beneath The Seams Of WW2

  1. tovintagelizze says:

    What a fantastic show! I wish it was being shown in Canada so I could go but since it is not, I’m glad you posted about it here. That Siren Suit is..amazing..wow!

    Thanks for posting 🙂

    Liz

  2. wardrobe experience says:

    This exhibition sounds so uinteresting. I’d love to go, if I could. I saw already a bunch of pictures on Instagram. Your outfit that day was so gorgeous! Love the blazer so much!

  3. Kate-Em says:

    I am really hoping for a trip to London so that I can go to this exhibition. All the photos and write ups I have seen so far are just increasing that desire. It looks amazing.

Share Your Thoughts:

