Well Suited

There is something about watching a classic movie, with the leading ladies often wearing sharply tailored classic suits. Lauren Bacall, Grace Kelly, Ingrid Bergman, Betty Grable – they all gave great suitage. (No, technically ‘suitage’ is not a word that appears in the English dictionary, but hey – you get my meaning).

Nowadays, it’s actually quite tricky to get a vintage-styled suit. Various reproduction companies offer some beautiful examples – I’m looking at you Puttin On The Ritz; and of course I can (and have in the past) made my own suits from original vintage patterns.

But last year, I heard whispers amongst the vintage community of a company called TopRunway, who offer vintage reproduction made-to-measure suits & dresses. So, I thought I would give them a try, and made my first purchase of this suit. I have since then made two additional purchases – the green dress which I customised, view here; and a grey suit which has only just arrived a few days ago, so I have yet to wear. So far, the only slight issue I have had with TopRunway, is that their interpretation of pockets sometimes leaves a little to desire. So, in future I would probably go for a design that does not have any pockets or pocket details. Otherwise, all 3 purchases have been above & beyond my expectations, and from me hitting the ‘order’ button to unwrapping my purchase has on average been 20 days each time.

These photos were actually taken almost 2 months ago now – where does the time go! I paired my suit with the gorgeous Saskia Squirrel brooch by Erstwilder, a vintage hat, gloves & luggage case. Please excuse the flat shoes, I know the outfit would have looked improved if I were wearing heels, but I was walking around Rye all day so obviously had worn flats for comfort.

Has anyone else purchased from TopRunway? What were your experiences?

Until next time dears!

11 thoughts on “Well Suited

  1. wardrobe experience says:

    Wow, this suit looks stellar on you. Somhow i didn’t heard the wispers of the vintage community … so I have to run and check out the label you got this wonderful suit from!!!

  2. Janey says:

    This suit is marvelous! And your brooch adorable! Also kudos to you for posting photos from two months ago! I have a hard time posting from two weeks ago!

    I had not heard of this brand until now! I’m also pleased to uncover fresh repro/inspired lines!

    xoxo
    -Janey

  3. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you my lovely! Yes, do check out TopRunway on Ebay (the link in the post should take you straight there). I believe they also sell on Etsy with the name ‘Heart My Closet’. xxx

  4. Jenny Frances says:

    Haa, I actually still have some pictures that I am waiting to post from about 6 months ago! I seem to have a tendency to ‘hoard’ pictures! My experience of TopRunway has been great, and I forgot to mention in the post that you can choose from a number of different fabrics/colour combinations; so you are even less likely to spot someone wearing the same as you! xxx

  5. Wendy Bayford says:

    What a gorgeous suit and it fits you to a T! I have never heard of Toprunway before I shall have to give them a look, as much as I love making my own clothes its nice to treat yourself every now and then and knowing that they are made to measure is fabulous! x

  6. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you Wendy! I must say, I recently read your Film Fashions of Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day – love it so much! It is one of my favourite films, and of course it features a lingerie fashion show-1930s lingerie swooooooon! XxxX

  7. Jenny Frances says:

    Oh my gosh, stop it! Seriously, you look so amazing – ALWAYS. You are such a style inspiration to me, I can’t wait for you to move to London! We must meet up & exchange vintage fashion tips! 🙂 xxx

Share Your Thoughts:

