Steamcream – A Moisturiser With A Difference

Up until the age of 12, I had beautiful skin. The kind of skin you imagine on Victorian lithographs of jolly children, all rosy cheeked and velvety. Then of course, the inevitable happened: Puberty. My skin suddenly didn’t know what it wanted to be, it wasn’t even fitting into ‘one-type-fits-all’ combination category. It seemed to be oily, as could be observed by the reflective shiny film across my whole face (causing me to get through outrageous amounts of face powder!), but it was also insanely dry, and would actually crack and form painful cuts. Just to ensure the whirlwind of confusion happening on my face was complete; I also had eczema.

So, most of my teen years were spent trying to find products to calm down my insane skin, mostly to little advantage. For the past 11 years I have been using Olay on a daily basis, I used the Complete Care Day Fluid in the mornings, and Double Action Night Cream in the evenings. I had a brief flirtation with Lush products in my early 20’s, but for some reason I never managed to fully incorporate them into my daily routines.

So what products do I use now?

For mornings: Splash face with cold water, wipe face with distilled witch hazel water, apply moisturiser (either Olay complete care with SPF 15 as previously mentioned, or if it is April – September I use SPF 50 instead).

For evenings: I use literally any brand of facewipe (usually those that are on ‘offer’), wipe face with toner (again – usually those that are on ‘offer’), wipe face with distilled witch hazel water, moisturise with Steamcream.

I am not fussy about facewipes or the brand of toner, as really – they are all doing the same job. In my opinion, I think it is a waste to spend lots of money on cleansers.

Why Steamcream?

Steamcream is a recent addition to my skincare routine, and so far – one I love! From their website:

STEAMCREAM represents the latest concept in skincare. Freshly handmade using high-quality, natural ingredients that are fused together by a shot of steam. This unique method makes the cream very lightweight, providing long-lasting hydration for the face.

I was drawn to Steamcream as they use natural ingredients – indeed, much like Lush they have a limited shelf life. I was also curious about the concept of steam – would it work? So far my skin has felt very soothed and calm, the cream itself glides on effortlessly, and smells wonderful. If any of you have used Imperialis moisturiser from Lush, the smell is actually very similar.

I apply Steamcream in the evenings, so my skin can get a good shot of moisture without make-up sitting on top of it. I have found that the cream seems to leave a ‘film’ on the skin, which does feel soothing to the skin, but equally, this is why I would not want to wear it during the daytime.

Another advantage of using Steamcream is – it comes in the CUTEST tins! Each tin can be reused for any number of things – storing hair grips anyone?; and is 100% recyclable. They actually run an annual competition for you to design your own tin, which, if you are the chosen winner, will be put into production. They currently have around 20 different designs of tin to choose from, all of which are limited edition. Their past tins have included horoscope designs, and beautiful Disney designs (Alice in Wonderland being my fave!)

Steamcream retails at £13.95 for a 75ml tin, which I think is actually fairly reasonable. The tin alone makes any dressing table look opulent, and the action of unscrewing the lid as opposed to squeezing product from a bottle makes it feel like a luxury product.

My overall verdict? Thumbs up! My skin is happy, my dressing table is happily displaying the pretty tin, and my bank balance is also pleased.

Purchase Steamcream here.

Until next time dears!

Share Your Thoughts:

