Introducing – Lee & Lawrie

Today I want to introduce a charming new vintage-reproduction brand – Lee & Lawrie. The brand is so new, that it actually only launched a few weeks ago (when it comes to pretty clothing, my radar is always on!)
The debut collection features beautiful bright & breezy colours, along with a wonderful novelty print or two. Cat lovers will fall paw over whisker for the Pretty Kitty skirt, whilst those who prefer a muted 1940s style will adore the Keep Calm dress.
The Thursday Love top in Yellow

The Thursday Love top in Yellow

 What sets this label apart, is the limited edition styles, and the intricate attention to detail. Lee & Lawrie is premium vintage reproduction for those who don’t have the time or inclination to shop true vintage, but still want to wear the vintage look.
The brains behind the brand is the lovely Georgina, who was kind enough to give me the low-down on her beautiful designs right here for you lovely readers! So, over to Georgina..
The Keep Calm dress in Blush

The Keep Calm dress in Blush

 What made you want to set up Lee & Lawrie?
From my early 20’s, I loved wearing true vintage pieces. I enjoyed investing a lot of time into the process of shopping to find the right pieces, and then being able to wear these amazing styles that were totally unique, beautifully made, and had a real history to them. I still love all those things, but as I’ve got a bit older I don’t have as much time anymore to trawl vintage markets and shops. So although I still looove vintage style, it needed to fit in with my lifestyle.
The Pretty Kitty skirt

The Pretty Kitty skirt

 Why reproduction clothing?
I started looking for more repro stuff in the hope that it would be nearly as lovely as true vintage, but much easier and less time-consuming to shop. I found that there are several existing repro brands, which are strong brands with some great designs, but I’ve been really disappointed by the quality of the clothes. The prices are generally pretty good (low!) but then, I think the quality of clothing reflects that. Things are often really stretchy, with no linings, inelegant seam finishes, no added details, etc. And for me, one of the amazing things about the clothes from the 40s and 50s (and earlier); is how much care was taken over their construction and quality. To reproduce the styles but in a cheap fast fashion way, seemed to me … a shame. And not what I was looking for.
The Rise & Shine dress

The Rise & Shine dress

What makes Lee & Lawrie different from other brands?
So that’s why I started thinking about creating authentic designs (same as some other repro brands…) but in an authentically quality way (not the same as other repro brands!). I want to make those lovely vintage styles more accessible to women like me who (a) no longer have the time or inclination (or never did) to shop true vintage, but who love vintage designs; and (b) who prefer beautiful quality premium clothes. All Lee & Lawrie clothes are hand-finished with french seams, lovely linings, nice fabrics, hidden pockets, that sort of thing. And everything is made entirely in Great Britain.
The Paris Sizzle jacket

The Paris Sizzle jacket

 I never wanted to create a competitor to the existing repro brands – they do what they do, and they do it well. I wanted to create a brand to fill what I see to be a gap in the market at the higher level; a totally different space from current repro brands in terms of quality, price point, and overall offering. But it’s definitely a challenge to establish a new brand as such, forging this slightly new path in the market.
The Make Do & Make Tea dress

The Make Do & Make Tea dress


I think Lee & Lawrie is perfect for the vintage-loving lady, who also enjoys good, top quality pieces perfectly constructed in her wardrobe. These pieces look built to last, and how many clothing labels can you say that about nowadays?
The Pretty Kitty skirt

The Pretty Kitty skirt

 My absolute favourites are the Pretty Kitty skirt (obviously – me being completely obsessed with cats!); the Keep Calm dress in Blush, and the wonderful Make Do & Make Tea dress – I mean, any title that has ‘Tea’ in it has to be a winner right?
Visit Lee & Lawrie at https://leelawrie.co.uk/, you can also follow them on Facebook, Instagram & Twitter.
Until next time dears!
2 thoughts on “Introducing – Lee & Lawrie

Share Your Thoughts:

