She Speaks – My First Blog Video!

Something I have been mulling over for quite a while now, is the possibility of producing my own blog videos (or short films, I’m not really sure what to refer to it as, especially since the term ‘video’ seems a bit ’90s nowadays!)

Many, many things have put-me-off, or stopped me from doing this – to name but a few here:

My terrible shyness & self consciousness. Although, whilst filming this I was in a room on my own, with just me & the camera, I actually felt fine. Then of course, I remember that by publishing it on the old ‘interweb’ anyone – literally ANYONE can see it, and subsequently hear my ramblings. Which does make me feel a tad uncomfortable and nervous.

I also have developed a bit of a complex about, of all things, my teeth. Yes, I know that sounds COMPLETELY ridiculous! When I was 12, I chipped one of my front teeth, and was unable to get it fixed. As my teeth have grown & shifted over time, it now appears that my teeth are wonky, when in fact it is the chip that makes it appear so. It is also too late now to get it fixed, as my teeth have adapted to that position, and getting it altered would require waaay more sitting in the dentists chair than I would be happy with! I also have Temporomandibular Joint Disorder (TMD for short) in my jaw; which causes my jaw to sometimes lock for days, which makes any dental treatment an additional worry.

So anyway, I decided to try and overcome these fears and produce a video! This one is a short little ‘hello’ (I say short, but I do go on for around 3 minutes, and even that is edited down.. I do tend to ramble sometimes..) For those of you that are unable to view the video embedded, click here to go straight to Youtube to view the video there.

I also talk about future videos I would like to produce, so if you would like to know what these are, hit the play button!

I thought I would also include some still shots of my hair from the video, which is basically a ‘poodle do’ with lots of pincurls, decorated with various flowers. Perfect for summer!

I do hope you all enjoy the video, and don’t find my voice too annoying or my rambles too long! You can find the link to Sadie’s hair tutorial which I mention in the video here.

Until next time dears, and please do comment and let me know if there are any particular tutorials/videos/discussions you would like me to produce next.

14 thoughts on “She Speaks – My First Blog Video!

  1. Natalie says:

    Well Done you for giving it a go! I’ve wanted to ‘blog’ for a while now but I’m worried about all sorts too! The bloggers that I currently watch on YouTube have fancy equipment and dreamy backgrounds…I don’t have any of that! You have given me that extra nudge though – thanks 🙂

  2. NoraFinds Vintage (@norafinds) says:

    OMG JENNY I DIE! You sound sooooooo ADORABLE!!! And I’ve only just realised you sound and move like my friend Hayley ehhehehe 🙂 I love your voice and you do not sound annoying at all (unlike me ahhaha!) and I think I will definitely be enjoying more of your videos. I agree with what you say about bloggers doing videos – I’ve only posted a handful but I often feel like the main problem is I don’t have anything exciting to talk about or to show? Hahah!

    PS. I hope you don’t mind me mentioning one thing – at times there’s a bit of flare on your glasses from the sunlight obviously but you can change your angle a bit maybe?

  3. Jenny Frances says:

    Omg, I’m so glad you like the video! (I should really start calling it a vlog, but that feels a bit too new & modern for me at the moment!)
    I know what you mean about the light glare, super annoying! I will reposition my angle a bit next time 🙂 I found it on one hand good to have no one with me when I was filming, as then I could just ramble on freely; but then I can’t tell if there are any problems with the framing etc until I play it back – annoying! I did a few ‘test shots’, but will play around with it a bit more I think. Also, in one of my takes I had completed the piece, then went over to the camera – only to find it had turned itself off as battery had died – NOOOOO. XxxX

  4. Marija says:

    Jenny,
    Thank YOU for giving out all the rantings – and I’m looking forward to watching much, much more of it. 🙂
    Now that we’re at it – you might (should!) consider doing some makeup tutorials as well.. if it’s something withing your comfort zone.

    Great first video.
    I’m massively happy for you.

    Marija

  5. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you Marija, I’m so glad you like the little video! 🙂 I most likely won’t be doing make-up tutorials, purely because I have a very ‘slap dash’ attitude to make-up, and literally will only wear the least I can get away with, and even that I apply as quickly as humanly possible!
    I don’t wear any eye make-up whatsoever, I literally only wear a bit of foundation, eyebrow pencil & lipstick, so it would be a very quick tutorial heee heee! 🙂 xx

  6. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you honey!
    The Raven & the Writing Desk book you found on your latest blog post looks amaaaaazing! Hoping you received my last letter, I always feel a bit untrusting of the postal service! 🙂 XXX

  7. Right On The Shelf says:

    Your look and video truly captured that 90s era which sparked a whole lot of interest and intrigue. I am also very reluctant about going on camera, even though I have wanted to do a video blog so badly. Thank you for posting and being honest. Definitely looking forward to more videos from you!

  8. Janey says:

    Aw, what a great video! And you are such an inspiration! I have yet to really get into videos. Mainly because I don’t have a lot of confidence in the uploading/editing process. I’m not a big fan of learning new tech things! lol

    xoxo
    -Janey

  9. Cate says:

    I’ve been meaning to comment for days as I am so in awe of you doing this. I am far too shy to even try and know I would mess it up. It’s fabulous to hear you speak and move about and your expressions reminded me of my friend Millie who’s lovely too!
    I’d love to see more about your hair techniques because it’s an area I really struggle with and it’s great to learn from those you admire. (I’m always looking at your photos coveting how you’ve done your hair!).
    Well done you and I can’t wait for the next one xx

  10. Jenny Frances says:

    Janey –
    I TOTALLY know what you mean about the technical side of video editing/uploading etc. Luckily, I have a (teeny tiny) bit of experience in this field, as I have done a bit of this for the Vintage News. But, when I was editing this video, I had completely finished it, then IT DISSAPEARED off the face of the earth/computer. Cue lots of expletives erupting from me! So I actually had to edit it twice. But, I definitely won’t make that mistake again! I shall save, save, save my work in future! 🙂

  11. Jenny Frances says:

    Aw, thank you so so much Cate! I did edit the video down a lot, as I seemed to say ‘erm’ an awful lot! 🙂 I also framed it so my arms & hands were not in the picture, as I tend to move my hands loads when I am speaking, so I tried to not have them in the frame! 🙂 I’d best get cracking on actually filming the hair tutorials now, scary! xxx

  12. amélie says:

    you are so pretty when you speak and smile !!!! I think it’s a great idea to do this video ! As we can see you’re alive haha.
    Thank you for doing this, I will check your future videos.
    I think its helpfull to watch severall different videos from different vintage girls regarding hair style, then after I can find my own !!!

    ;)))

  13. Jenny Frances says:

    Aw, thank you Amelie! Doing the video felt a bit scary, as it felt like I was putting more of myself ‘out there’, as opposed to just writing blog posts. I’m glad you liked it!
    Ps – Sofias Garden on Etsy really is ammmaaaazing! I love her pieces so much, and definitely intend to buy more. Especially, as like you say, she is based in the UK. I recently got stung by customs for a charge on a package I got from the USA 😦 So annoying when that happens!

Share Your Thoughts:

