Mint Dress Of My Dreams

When shopping for vintage, you never know what you are going to find. That is part of the attraction of true vintage; but equally it can prove to be a bit of a hindrance. Nowadays, I tend to do most of my browsing & shopping for vintage online (it’s easier, and I can do it whilst drinking ridiculous amounts of tea in my own sitting room – what’s not to like?)

So, a few weeks ago, I was browsing through various sites; and found this dress. It literally made my heart skip a beat. I adore shades of mint/aqua/seafoam green, but until now, had yet to own a dress in that colour.

It was in beautiful condition, the only draw-back was it was a tad too big for me. This is not such a problem on the waist, as it is loose which allows me to easily sit/slouch/eat a massive meal and not feel like I am going to explode; but on the bust.. it was more of an issue. This is not a new dilemma for me, and I usually just accept that EVERYTHING shop brought or vintage is going to be too big in this area. So, in these pictures I am wearing a ridiculously over-padded bra (which, incidentally I have had for a good few years now, and is also too big for me!)

Thankfully, with the help of the padding it kind of smooth’s out the silhouette, so it doesn’t gape too much. The joys of having an Audrey Hepburn figure hey?

I decided to accessorise the dress with shades of lilac, with vintage gloves & earrings. I didn’t feel like wearing a hat (which seriously is not a sentence I say often!), so I made some hair clips from vintage bows, (which originally came from a 1940s hat, but the hat itself was beyond saving)  and adorned a plain hair net with some small artificial pansy flowers.

The beautiful dress came from – Atypical Girl Vintage Section

Earrings from – Sofias Garden

Oh, and in other news, I almost completely forgot to mention – I am on Buzzfeed this week in their ’11 Radiant Vintage-Styled Ladies Who Will Make You Swoon’ feature! I had no idea this article was being put together, so it came as a bit of a shock to discover I was number 4 on their list! There are some absolutely inspiring, beautiful women included on the list, so go check it out here now!

Until next time dears!

19 thoughts on “Mint Dress Of My Dreams

  1. Cate says:

    Oh, that dress is just stunning and such a good price too (I had a sneaky peak on the website). It was obviously meant to be yours because it looks so lovely on you. I love the combination of the lavender gloves, they give it such a spring feel. Just beautiful xx

  2. Shauna says:

    I saw that dress on the Atypical Girl website and was so gutted that it had sold!! But it looks so stunning on you that I feel ok about it now haha! 🙂 Congrats on being on Buzzfeed too!

  3. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you sweetie! Aw, I feel bad as that has happened to me loads and it’s super annoying! If it’s any consolation I shall get lots of wear out of it & look after it! To be honest, I wasn’t sure that the dress really was mine until about 24hrs later, as a glitch in their website had it still listed as available even though I had paid (which then made me paranoid that someone had actually purchased it before I had, making the dress rightfully theirs) But, it transpired that I did indeed get there first 🙂 Thank you about the Buzzfeed article, it was so weird as I literally had no idea I was on it, I was just scrolling down then I saw my face! lol! 🙂

  4. Porcelina says:

    That is truly a beautifully cut dress, absolutely stunning on you! I love the colour and my husband-to-be just leaned over the computer and said he likes the pockets.
    x

  5. Jessica Cangiano says:

    Oooohh, Jenny, it’s absolutely, resplendently beautiful! What a classic, elegant, and very, very becoming mint green frock this is. Congratulations on this awesome find, it looks sensational on you!

    ♥ Jessica

  6. Jenny Frances says:

    I fall so much in love with the colour, and I actually don’t have a lot of true vintage dresses, most of them are ones I have made myself. I figure it’s nice to have some actual vintage items in my wardrobe! xx

  7. Jenny Frances says:

    Ha ha! That’s quite funny, but you know – they aren’t actually functional pockets! I keep forgetting and go to put my hand in them, but they are just flaps of decorative fabric! LOL! xxx

  8. sally sputnik's says:

    The dress is beautiful, those sleeves! I love the lilac you chose to style it with.

  9. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you sweetie, I’m sure I will be wearing it again soon, perhaps with a different accessorising colour, maybe pale pink? Or navy.. so many choices! xx

  10. sally sputnik's says:

    Pale pink would look lovely! mint and baby pink is my favourite colour combo.

Share Your Thoughts:

