Wonderland Liberty Blouse

As I mentioned in this post, I love Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Earlier this month; I went to see The Alice Look exhibition at the Museum of Childhood, and attended the one-day Alice Conference. Whilst there, I had the opportunity to view some beautiful fabrics from Liberty’s latest range: Pictures & Conversations, inspired by 150 years since the publication of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland.

I had seen the fabrics online, but had found it rather difficult to choose my favourite design. Seeing the fabrics in real life really helped me to make a decision (and the fact that some of the designs were selling-out rather quickly!)

So, I promptly ordered some of the Gallymoggers design in pale blue as soon as I could get to my laptop! *Incidentally, whilst preparing this blog post I have discovered that the fabric is actually now sold out in that colour-way, but I believe it is still available in pink.*

This is the first fabric I have purchased from Liberty London, and believe me – it is not through lack of desire (have you seen their fabrics? Swoon..) more a lack of inclination to spend that much money on fabric per metre. But, I really couldn’t pass up this opportunity to get some ‘Alice’ printed fabric, and I knew I would regret it if it sold out.

I initially really liked the Garden Wonderland print, and was going to purchase that one (I love the fact that the design for the fabric was selected by Kathryn Beaumont – the actress who provided the voice of Alice in Disney’s 1951 film!); but at the last minute I was won-over by the Gallymoggers print. This is mostly because whilst at The Alice Look exhibition, I saw a wonderful picture of Deborah Kerr, wearing a novelty Alice print blouse.

I made the blouse from an original 1940s pattern, added interfacing to the collar & facings, executed French seams on all seams, bound the facing edges with fine bias binding, and used a finer needle in my sewing machine to handle the cotton lawn fabric carefully. I drafted a curved ‘Peter Pan’ collar, as I actually prefer this shape to the standard pointed collar shape. I used glass, hand-painted original 1940s buttons which I have had in my stash for well over a year! I was waiting for the right project to utilise them with!

I’m sure I am going to wear this blouse LOTS, now I just need to find my own entrance into Wonderland..

Until next time dears!

10 thoughts on “Wonderland Liberty Blouse

  1. Bianca Esposito says:

    The blouse is beautiful, I really like the rounded collar! I love those glass buttons too, I always tend to go for matching buttons on instinct instead of fun contrasting ones, I’ll have to change it up! Sewing with Liberty fabric is always amazing, the quality is such a nice reprieve from the printed cotton fabrics available here in the US. I dream about wandering their fabric department again someday soon, even if each metre is a mini investment!

  2. Jessica Cangiano says:

    That is so splendidly sweet and fun! I love the classic design of this blouse partnered with such a smile-inducingly charming, whimsical pattern. The two partner fabulously!

    ♥ Jessica

  3. Kate-Em says:

    I love Liberty fabrics and this one is extra special, I am not surprised you bought it. You have turned it into a beautiful blouse.

  4. wardrobe experience says:

    Oh, this blouse is so fabulous! What a print! Alice!!!! When I started to work for the theater, my second play was Alice in Wonderland – a puppet play for grown ups! I loved it!

  5. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you Bianca, the glass buttons have their down-side though.. I had a pack of 6, and used 5 on the blouse. The next day, the shank of one of them snapped, so I had to replace it with the only spare one I had! Really hoping that none of the other buttons snap, as I shall have to change all the buttons then! xx

Share Your Thoughts:

