More Adventures in Bobbed Hair

As I have had my hair in a bob for over 6 months now, I thought it was time to do a sequel to my ‘What to Know When Getting Your Hair Bobbed’ post.

When I first had my hair cut into a bob, I was pretty much set against the idea of layers. But, on one visit to the hairdressers to have my usual trim (which is normally around every 3-6 weeks, although the last time I dragged it out for a whooping 11 weeks – so it was looking rather unkempt!) after chatting to my hairdresser, he advised some layers in the back. I decided to give it a go, and I’m glad I did. The layers just helped my hair to ‘sit’ much more smoothly, and to lay flat against my head, without any kicks or annoying kinks. So, at the moment my basic haircut is a cheek-length bob, with layering in the back. As regular readers will know, my hair type is naturally poker-straight, very fine, and I don’t seem to actually have that many hairs on my head. My preferred waving method is to do a wet pincurl set. I can curl my hair with heat, but the curls drop out after about an hour, and even sooner if I step outside!

For this blog post, I decided to show you my process from having my hair in a pincurl set, brushing out, styling, to the finished ‘look’.

Firstly, I begin by starting to remove the pincurls which have been in my hair for at least 4 hours, sometimes overnight depending on my schedule. As I mentioned, I do a wet pincurl set, so I wash my hair, spray with a setting lotion solution, then begin sectioning and creating the pincurls.

I then shake out the curls, to ensure I have removed all the hair grips, and to help separate the hair.

Next, I start the long brushing out process. It is this process that I think a lot of people find difficult, I know I did when I first starting setting my hair! This is because, half-way through you look like this:

OMG. Seriously.

 ALL THE FLUFFY FRIZZINESS! But, no need to panic, if you keep on brushing, it will then start to smooth out, looking more like this:

So, I keep brushing sections, sometimes wrapping curls around my fingers to shape them as I go. Once I have brushed and smoothed all sections, I then start to think about where I want the curls to fall, and if I want to create a wave across my forehead.

Notice how much smoother my hair is here? Brush brush brush! To help me shape my front waves, I use vintage wave clips. I have clipped the side-section out of the way with a standard black clip, which you can just make out in these pictures. Once I have shaped the front I will then remove the black clip, and arrange these curls.

Pincurl clips help to keep hair flat if needed, as demonstrated above. Once I am happy with the positioning, and have checked the sides and back in a mirror, I then cover my hair with hairspray.

After letting the hairspray dry, and enabling the hairspray to ‘set’ the waves clipped at the front, I then remove the wave clips.

After giving it a final check-over, I am then good to go!

The whole brushing out and styling process probably takes me about 20 minutes, sometimes longer if my hair is misbehaving!

Tips and Notes

  • I use a scarf to cover my pin curl set, both for daytime use and for sleeping in. I find using a pure silk scarf results in a smoother hair set, which is easier to brush out.
  • I have really short hairs at the nape of my neck, which are too short to pin curl. So I just leave them as they are!
  • If you think your set is a flop or failure, just keep brushing. Use your hands to shape the hair as you brush, to encourage it to sit where you want it to.
  • Set the hair with hairspray to make the style last longer.

So there you have it! My hairstyling tips and tricks. I hope this can be useful to some of you, if only for you to giggle at my frizzy hair picture!

I do have a Youtube video of me brushing out a pincurl set, from when I had longer hair. Even though my hair is longer, the basic brush out principles are the same, so if you fancy watching it, you can view here.

Until next time dears!

11 thoughts on “More Adventures in Bobbed Hair

  1. Cate says:

    I keep thinking about doing a post about how I curl my hair but never get around to taking the photos! I’m glad I’m not the only one who has that mad frizzy chaos on top of their head, my mum thinks it’s hilarious!

  2. Jenny Frances says:

    I would love to see a post on how you do your hair, your curls always look so perfect! Even though I have been setting my hair for a few years now, when I get to the ‘frizzy mess’ part of the brush out, I still freak out slightly! Haa ha! 🙂 xxx

  3. Jenny Frances says:

    I know what you mean about the hair not holding a curl, I think it takes a while to figure out what your hair likes. I know with mine, the only curl it will hold is from a wet set. Curls created with heat just don’t hold at all for me! And it takes a while to see which products work best for your hair, I know some people adore Loreal Elnett hairspray – but for me it doesn’t do a thing! I stick with Tresemme hairspray, as I know from trial and error that is what works for my hair type. I’m sure you will find a curling method & products that work for you, it just takes a while 🙂 xx

  4. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you so much Jessica! When I first got my hair bobbed, I was worried it would mean I wouldn’t be able to ‘pull-off’ certain period looks, but luckily it has proved really versatile! xxx

  5. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you so much Stevie! I love reading your posts on Glamourdaze, so inspirational and informative. I have a few different pairs of glasses frames, all of them vintage with my own lenses in. I like to be able to choose which pair to wear based on which outfit I am planning to wear, rather than just having one pair. Jenny x

Share Your Thoughts:

