A Peach Bouquet

I finally have something new to show you which I sewed! The past few months have been quite testing,  I don’t want to go into any details – but the result of this is that I have not posted as often here as I may normally do. I always keep up to date with collaborations and work commitments, but the personal blogging bits and bobs (things I have sewn etc) have fallen to the bottom of the priority list. I’m sure many bloggers go through this, and as we all lead busy lives, sometimes something has to give.

Also – I haven’t really had that many things to show you / tell you all about anyway! With everything that has been going on, so far this year I have only made the grand total of: 1 jersey top which I blogged about here; and this skirt I am about to tell you all about.

With the sun actually out and shining lately, it has made me feel more optimistic about the future, and put a bit of a ‘spring in my step’. On this note, it got me thinking about novelty prints and spring patterns, when I remembered that I had this gorgeous fabric in my stash. I purchased it a few years ago from a fabric shop which has sadly since closed down. Looking at the print, it definitely screams 1950s to me, and I thought it would make a really cute border-print style skirt.

The print is actually bouquets of flowers tied with ribbons, so cute!

As I wanted the print to not be distorted too much, I decided a circle skirt pattern was out. Instead, I went for a simple gathered waistline, so the skirt has volume without the dreaded ‘there is a gust of wind and there goes my skirt over my head’ scenario. It was really quick and simple to make, indeed I have made a few skirts using this method.

I think the peach and coral of the flowers is such a fresh colour combination, and it goes perfectly with my vintage mac (which I also love because of the unusual colour. Not many shops/designers seem to dabble in peaches or corals nowadays I find.)

A note about these pictures: For various reasons, I decided to attempt to take these MYSELF OUT IN PUBLIC. Arrrrgh. So, I got myself ready, put the finishing touches to my lipstick, ensured I was wearing my earrings (as sometimes I forget). And then – I just sort of loitered in the hallway of my house psyching myself-up to actually go outside and take the darn pictures. I used a tripod and the self-timer on my camera – yes, I know about the wireless shutter remotes, I just have yet to actually buy one. So after picking a suitable spot, I then put the self-timer on, ran into position, waited for the ‘click’, then repeated over and over. And over.

Did I feel incredibly stupid and vain? Yes. But – I did something that scared me, and hey, I survived! Admittedly, it is easier and more enjoyable when someone else can take the pictures, but sometimes you need to rely on yourself. And well, the pictures did actually come out kind of ok.

So there we have it! In future, I am definitely going to buy a wireless shutter remote as I think that will help to make me feel less awkward. Does anyone else ever feel painfully awkward taking pictures in public? How about taking your own pictures? Let me know in the comments, I’d love to hear your thoughts and stories!

Until next time dears!

13 thoughts on “A Peach Bouquet

  1. Cate says:

    Very cute skirt and sorry to hear you’ve been having a rough time. I always get self-conscious when I do my outfit shots, even if it’s in my own garden. My usual photographer is going to be away all of next month so was thinking of doing what you’ve done here, but I’m not sure I could quite push myself to do it. Well done you for being brave! xx

  2. The Homemade Pinup says:

    Hi Jenny, this skirt is lovely! I adore the colors you’ve chosen to coordinate with it – mint and peach are so cheery. Beautiful job on the skirt. I agree with you about feeling awkward taking photos. For me, I feel awkward being the subject of photos in public even when someone is taking the picture for me! It’s like EVERYBODY decides to look at you like you might be special if you’re posing! *hides* Also, my thoughts and well wishes are with you for whatever has been troubling you.

  3. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Cate!
    I know, even with Kieren taking the pictures I feel like a dork. I usually just to focus on the fact that if people are staring at me, they probably won’t even remember me the next day, so it’s no big deal. I type that, but I still feel really self conscious! That feeling of ‘what on earth am I doing?’ is definitely amplified when it’s just me on my own with a tripod! Haaa ha! I’m sure other bloggers must take their pictures this way, I suppose it’s just getting used to it! 🙂 xxx

  4. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Lauren! I know, whenever I chose a perfect place to take pictures, you can usually guarantee that some gaggle of people will appear out of nowhere! Nooo! I try to get around that by either taking pictures early in the morning, or just trying to plan in advance when somewhere will be quiet and people-free. It is tricky though, and I’m certain that many bloggers must have the same anxieties, they must just be used to dealing with people’s quizzical looks! 🙂 xxx

  5. Jessica Cangiano says:

    Absolutely gorgeous colour palette and ensemble. These gentle hues are enchanting on you, sweet lady.

    Many hugs & the utmost of wishes that spring proves to be a more pleasant, serene season for you.

    ♥ Jessica

  6. Janey says:

    First off, darling outfit!

    Secondly, I have yet to ever take my own photos of myself… And I applaud you for taking photos of yourself outside in public, Brava my dear! But even when someone is taking my picture, I sometime still feel awkward in public, but it depends on the location.

    xoxo
    -Janey

  7. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Janey,
    I’m glad I’m not the only one to freak out and feel completely awkward, haa ha! I guess it’s just a case of getting used to it, or ignoring people’s odd stares! 🙂 xx

  8. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you so much, adore your collections too! Hoping to venture more into 1920s attire soon, I have a few projects on my cutting table for 1920s style dresses; which are really just waiting for me to get the time to make them up! 🙂 xx

Share Your Thoughts:

