A Bright And Breezy 1960s Dress

At the end of last year, I wrote a blog post about some of my favourite sewing projects of 2015. In the post, I set myself some sewing goals & plans for the year ahead. Well, now that we are in the 4th month of the year, it’s about time I started to tick items off that list! One of my goals was to make more dresses, as last year I only made one dress (I am talking about items made for myself here, not commissions).

I thought a great place to start, would be this bright and breezy 1960s housedress. I actually cut out all the pattern pieces and half-constructed the bodice back in December, and since then it had been in a sorry pile underneath my desk. Oops. The pattern is original early 1960s, and was pretty quick to make-up. The only alterations that I carried out, were taking-in the bodice at the bust (as it was of course too big #flatchestedproblems), and I added some snaps at the wrap opening to prevent it from flying open and revealing too much.

The pattern is very much based on the Swirl design of house dresses that were so popular in the 1950s and 1960s. The dress goes on kind of like a housecoat, putting the arms through first, then inserting one end of the belt through a gap in the left hand bodice, then pulling both belt ends tight and tying in a bow at the front or back as desired. The bodice fastens with a single button at the neck in order to keep it aligned. As the wrap section of the skirt falls at the back, that is why I decided to add snaps to this skirt edge (more for my own peace of mind than anything else really. With the opening at the back, I felt paranoid that I would be walking around with the dress open and flashing everyone without me realising!)

I also achieved another goal from my list last year – I actually used up some fabric from my stash! Hurray! I had this ditsy daisy print cotton in my hoard for a good couple of years, and I have already made a few garments from it. As it is such a nice quality 100% cotton, I thought it would be nice for this dress.

I teamed my dress with a new cardigan I treated myself to from Woolovers – I never quite know how to pronounce that, is it Wool Lovers, or Wool Overs? I call it Wool Lovers as I think that makes more sense.

As the weather was actually sunny last weekend, Kieren and I decided to go exploring along the coast in search of interesting photo locations. We found these adorable beach huts, and instantly knew it was the perfect backdrop for these pictures!

You can see my hair is looking a bit different, I am growing out the pixie crop back into a bob. I had the back trimmed last week to try and make it look more ‘bob like’, but it may take a few months before it gets back to a proper bob length. I did like the crop, but it didn’t feel like ‘me’. I felt frustrated that I didn’t like it unless I curled or fingerwaved it, which inevitably led to me wearing turbans and scarfs pretty much all the time! With my bob, I found I liked it equally as much when it was straight or pincurled, which meant I had double the options of how to wear it.

Continuing with trying to tick items off my sewing goals list, I finally got around to purchasing the Colette Oolong pattern this week, so I will be making that up soon too!

How are your 2016 sewing plans going so far?

Until next time dears!

5 thoughts on “A Bright And Breezy 1960s Dress

  1. Jessica Cangiano says:

    Such a pretty look and colour palette. The older I get, the bigger a corner of my heart early 60s fashions carve out. They’re often so chic, feminine and classic. I really like this time period on you, sweet lady.

    Joyful April wishes!
    ♥ Jessica

Share Your Thoughts:

