A Double Whammy with The Seamstress of Bloomsbury

The Seamstress of Bloomsbury is a brand I have been a fan of for a good few years now. You may remember that I wrote about their Vanessa dress last year – view the original post here. Each season they release new prints, all based on 1940s designs and patterns, lending a wonderfully authentic flavour to their collections.

The Lucy dress immediately caught my eye when it was first released, and I am so thrilled to have the opportunity to review it! Available in Blue Clove print or Red Clove print, I opted for the blue as I just felt like it was a more suitable colour for me. As usual, the package was shipped extremely promptly, and was an absolute joy to unwrap.

There were further joys waiting to be revealed, in the form of wonderful design details on the dress that the product description omitted. Listed below are some features that can be seen from the product listing page, and others which were a joyous surprise to me:

  • Delicately embroidered collar
  • Dainty cover buttons down the centre front (which are not functional – instead hooks clasp into carefully stitched eyes at regular intervals down the centre front)
  • Concealed side zipper
  • Godets in the skirt – I was particularly impressed by these! There are 6 godets in the skirt, distributed evenly throughout. They add movement, and really make the skirt swish when you walk. Genius!
  • Pleats on the sleeves which are shaped into V points on the cuffs. Again, a subtle design feature that it actually took me over a day to notice, but they are so cute!
  • Dainty tucks at the front shoulders on the bodice. Such a period detail, these also give a bit of added interest.
  • Tie belt

As you can see, lovely Lucy held lots of hidden features that were a very welcome surprise to me!

Sizing-wise, I decided to go for the UK10, as I like my clothing to be a bit big rather than too small. Also, as I am currently on the small side of a UK8, I thought if I get the 10 then put any weight on, it won’t matter! *breaks out the Milkybar..* I will say, that if you are on the busty side, perhaps size up to ensure a good fit across the centre front.

Also, even though the collar and neckline are high, they are super comfortable. I know sometimes with high-necked blouses they can feel a bit claustrophobic, but this was not the case with this dress at all.

In addition to women’s clothing, The Seamstress of Bloomsbury also offers men’s trousers, in the form of their Men’s 1940s Trousers. Kieren is wearing the 1940s Men’s Trousers in Black Pinstripe – hence the double whammy in this post title!

The 1940s Men’s trousers are based on a Demob pattern (men returning from the war were issued with Demobilisation clothing, a term shortened to ‘Demob’.) You can view a picture here from the Imperial War Museum demonstrating a Sergeant being fitted into his Demobilisation suit.

The 1940s Men’s trousers feature a button fly, interior buttons for attaching braces, 2 front pockets and 1 back pocket. The waistband sits around 3 inches higher on the waist than standard trousers, so is high-waisted, but not super high-waisted like some of Kieren’s 1930s styles. It also has belt loops, should a belt be preferred over braces.

As I was saying about the hidden design details.. look at this!

14

‘Such Darn Handsome Trousers’ – I love this amazing attention to detail so much. I must admit I did exclaim in delight when I read this label!

The fabric of the trousers is a polyester/viscose mix, so it is soft whilst maintaining a good drape. We were also lucky enough to receive some little extras with our garments, Kieren had a lovely handkerchief, which was embroidered with ‘The Seamstress of Bloomsbury’. How wonderful!

The women’s range of clothing is made from 100% rayon crepe de chine, so may be laundered with ease. This is also conducive to my next point – dancing. I thought I would test how the Lucy dress moved whilst spinning; as if I am intending to wear this dress whilst dancing, I wanted to know how high the skirt would fly out.

The skirt does fly out fairly high, but generally stays at a ‘safe’ level (ie – not flashing your lingerie to one and all). I did think the picture below was quite funny, my limbs remind me a spider losing its balance! Haa ha, definitely an ‘action shot’.

The thing I love the most about The Seamstress of Bloomsbury, is that they go absolutely above and beyond expectations.

I obviously loved this dress before it arrived, based on the listing description and accompanying pictures. And when the dress arrived, I was astonished at just how many design details Lucy contained – no element had been overlooked.

Kieren is very taken with his trousers too, and they will definitely be a wardrobe favourite.

I am wearing my Lucy dress with the Antoinette shoes by Hotter in blue (it looks like the blue colourway has sold out now, but they are still available in black, magenta and flint). I actually cannot recall where I got my stockings from, it may have been What Katie Did, but I am not sure.

Lucy dress c/o The Seamstress of Bloomsbury view here.

1940s Men’s Trousers by The Seamstress of Bloomsbury view here.

Thank you so much to The Seamstress of Bloomsbury, we both love the garments and had a fun time taking pictures together (even if I did get pretty dizzy doing all those spins!)

Until next time dears!

 

18 thoughts on “A Double Whammy with The Seamstress of Bloomsbury

  1. Jenny Frances says:

    They have so many lovely dresses on their site, and they ship worldwide too, hurrah! All of their designs take details from original 1940s garments, so look wonderfully authentic. I love so many of their styles and prints right now, I could see myself wearing pretty much all of them! 🙂

  2. Marija says:

    Hello dear!
    You look so lovely, just like spring deserves. You are celebrating Spring the best way (even if, maybe, it was not your plan to do so). Actually, you BOTH look dashing.
    I know, I know.. I haven’t left a comment over here in a while, BUT rest assured I follow this blog – and I follow your Instagram diligently. 🙂

    Huge hug
    Marija

  3. The Garden Times says:

    How wonderful – you both look ready to dance up a storm. Your wonderful posts have been helping me make dolly clothes (not brave enough to make my own yet!) Thank you for the charming read. cheers from Melbourne Australia. Tina

  4. Wendy Bayford says:

    What smashing outfits, you both look fabulous in them! Seeing all that beautiful finishing and attention to detail, as someone who sews really makes me happy, its something that could so easily be left off, but shows a real care for their product! I am off to have a look at thier range! xx

  5. Karen says:

    This dress suits you so well – and I adore the ‘swing’ photos! I also really like the idea of dots and seams together on your stockings – I am now on the lookout for some like that! All in all, such a lovely look. Karen x

  6. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Tina,
    Thank you so much! It’s wonderful to hear you are making dolly clothes, how charming! I admire that, I think I would find miniature clothing a tad too fiddly to do! 🙂 Jenny xx

  7. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Wendy,
    I know, those were my thoughts exactly! All those lovely details could have easily been omitted, and the fact that they weren’t makes the dress so special. Definitely pop and have a look at the range (psssst – also I noticed over on Rock N Romance http://www.rocknromance.co.uk/store/c10/All_items_from_%22The_Seamstress_of_Bloomsbury%22.html they stock the Seamstress of Bloomsbury.. and some discounted lines of the range too! Some of the SoB dresses on there are half price!) xx

  8. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Karen,
    I wish I could remember with clarity where I got those stockings from! I have a feeling they were either from What Katie Did, or were by Jonathan Aston probably via Ebay. I purchased them 3 years ago, so my memory is a bit foggy! 🙂 xx

  9. Christina says:

    The topstitching on the collar and the pin tucks at the shoulder are very sweet details. It is small touches like this that really show good quality and a flattering hcut to a garment. Very pretty dress!

  10. Cate says:

    You both look fab as always, my lovelys. The colour of this dress is soooo good on you! It’s lovely to see them doing something other than black, navy, ivory or red which so many of their garments come in. I’ve never bought from them but do really like their Dorothy dress. xxx

  11. Jenny Frances says:

    I know exactly what you mean! The little details definitely add-up to a beautiful piece. The cut of the skirt is so wonderful too, moving brilliantly. 🙂 xx

  12. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you Cate!
    I know what you mean, I absolutely ADORE the lines of the Mae dress, but black is just not me at all. They should release the Mae in their mint harvest print, or the new pale pink floral pattern on Connie – how amazing would that look! I LOVE your latest wardrobe addition on your blog btw, that dress looks amazing on you! xxx

  13. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you so much Bonita, I know what you mean about the little details. I love the top stitching and the little tucks, they are made even more special by the fact that they are not strictly necessary, but they just finish off the dress so beautifully! xx

  14. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Lauren, I definitely want to wear this dress again soon. I am a guest at a graduation ceremony in a few weeks time, so I may wear it to that! It’s so comfortable too, as the fit just loosely skims and flows over the body, a dream to wear! xx

Share Your Thoughts:

