Hotter Shoes Style Series – A 1950s Look With Donna Heels

I am thrilled to announce the second instalment of my Fall/Winter Style Series for Hotter Shoes has been published! In this instalment, I style the Donna heels to suit a 1950s look.

Sometimes, elements combine to form the perfect picture backdrop – the wind speed is low, the temperature is pleasant, etc. This was not one of those occasions. The pictures for this piece proved oddly troublesome – mostly due to the weather. The images here are the result of 2 or 3 attempts at shooting, each on different days. But finally we got some nice pictures, so hey-ho! (Even if I was actually baking in my wool dress when the temperature was 28 degrees centigrade!)

The Donna heels are a firm favourite with many vintage aficionados, and with their versatile yet feminine style it is easy to see why. For this instalment, I selected the Donna heels in plum, however they are also available in a host of alternative colours and shades.

To read the piece (in which I also give a brief history of popular 1950s styles of shoes), visit the Hotter Shoes blog; It’s a Shoe Thing here.

To view my previous Style Series posts for Hotter Shoes, check out this category here.

Until next time dears!

11 thoughts on “Hotter Shoes Style Series – A 1950s Look With Donna Heels

  1. theartyologist says:

    Lovely outfit- and glad you got the pictures despite the uncooperative weather!
    I bought these same shoes in cream last year, but sadly they ended up being a size too small and I just couldn’t make them work. 😦 Oh well, I sold them to my sister, so now she is fabulous. 🙂 haha!
    -Nicole
    The Artyologist

  2. Karen says:

    What a lovely dress and shoes. I am not sure I could quite manage the colour of the dress, but it looks beautiful on you. I love your stockings too – I have been admiring another blogger’s pink and burgundy seams, but purple are wholly new for me. Kx

  3. Jenny Frances says:

    Aw no! That’s unfortunate that they turned out to be too small, but at least your sister gave them a good home! There are a few different shoe retailers online that I would love to buy from (Royal Vintage Shoes & Miss L Fire), but I’m too chicken in case I get the wrong size! Maybe one day! 🙂 xx

  4. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you so much Jessica!
    It looks like that was the last outing for those purple seamed stockings – they had some little runs in them prior to wearing them in these pictures, which I had attempted to fix with clear nail polish. But alas, the runs spread rendering them beyond repair/wear. I had them for around 3/4 years, so they had a good time of it! Hope you are well dear, xxx

  5. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Karen!
    Yes, I have been admiring the emerald, burgundy and blue seams from What Katie Did for a while now. I think I may end up buying the pale pink seams at some point (although I’m not sure if they are limited edition, so I’d best not dilly-dally too long!)
    These purple seams I have had for a couple of years, I think they may have been Johnathon Aston?? I’m not entirely sure. But they are stockings rather than hold-ups or tights, so I don’t know if that would help narrow-down a search. xxx

  6. Jenny Frances says:

    Thank you so much Christina! I definitely tend to veer towards richer, darker tones and hues in the autumn. Although I generally prefer the colours of Springtime, it is nice to have a little change every once in a while. 🙂 xxx

Share Your Thoughts:

