Hotter Shoes Style Series – A 1940s Look With Stephanie Heels

In my latest instalment for Hotter shoes, I style a late 1940s look with the lovely Stephanie heels. I knew as soon as I saw the Stephanie heels, that they would be perfectly suited to a 1930s or 1940s style. The lattice work across the shoe not only helps to keep the feet comfortably encased, but also reflects the innovations in materials and textiles during the 1930s and 1940s. Of course, use of elastic was restricted during the war years, but the innovative approach to using new, unusual materials in the light of austerity is definitely reflected here.

Whilst I found taking the pictures for my previous piece a tad frustrating, on the contrary, these pictures were so much fun! Kieren and I decided to take these pictures in the quiet hour before sunset, and there was barely anybody about. That, coupled with the fact that I had my glasses off, meant that I couldn’t see if people staring at me when I was holding poses, which made me feel generally more confident.

I decided to choose these shoes in black, (they are also available in maroon and navy suede) as I realised I didn’t actually own any black heels. I usually tend to get completely side-tracked by pretty colours instead! I have had these shoes for a while now, and I have to say I think they are my absolute favourite. Not only do they go with lots of outfits (the convenience of choosing them in black), but they feel as if they were literally made for my feet. Every pair of Hotter shoes feels amazing on, but with these they just feel extra-super comfortable!

For my Style Series piece, I decided to style the shoes with a suit I have based on a late 1940s style. The suit features black detailing, which I felt picked-up on the black of the shoes. To add a pop of colour – I always have to add a pop of colour! I opted for red accessories, which also matched the bright red Mac Ruby Woo lipstick I am wearing.

I styled my hair into a Betty Grable / Rita Hayworth poodle do. For this style, I set my hair as usual. I then brushed out my set, smoothed and clipped the sides and back sections out of view. I ensured any clips I used for this would be placed so as to hidden by the hat. I then created individual pincurls, pinning them randomly at the crown of my head, layering some as I went. I finished the look with my 1940s vintage hat, and of course a hat pin to secure.

I decided to leave my glasses off, as I just felt that none of my frames quite ‘went’ with the outfit. Of course, I only took them off for each individual picture, putting them back on as soon as I could to see! I am actually looking out for some rimless styles of frames to suit the 1930s era or earlier at the moment, and have come across some beautiful examples on Ebay. Although, frustratingly, most rimless styles seem to be Pince-Nez, which of course are completely impractical for me!

Anyway, to read and view the full piece, visit the Hotter Shoes blog, It’s a Shoe Thing here.

To view my previous Style Series posts for Hotter Shoes, check out this category here.

Until next time dears!

13 thoughts on “Hotter Shoes Style Series – A 1940s Look With Stephanie Heels

  1. Christina says:

    What a beautiful suit! And the red accessories compliment the look perfectly. A pop of colour always lifts a suit and brings it out of that work wear realm and makes it look more fashionable, if you see what I mean.

  2. Karen says:

    Gorgeous shoes, and what a lovely suit. I adore the way you have used red accessories to give it a lift. Kx

  3. Jessica says:

    What an absolutely fabulous look! I love the gorgeous suit and the pops of red, and the shoes look like a versatile and practical addition to your wardrobe. Great job shooting in public – it can be quite nerve wracking at first, but the more you do it the easier it gets.

  4. Carla W says:

    That suit is simply gorgeous, I love the bright pops of red ❤

    And good on you shooting in public. I'm still trying to get over my fears of it, I might take my glasses off like you did, that could help!

    Carla, Tiny Angry Crafts

  5. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Nicole, thanks so much! I don’t wear the suit too often, although I do wear the skirt a lot combined with blouses, knits, cardigans etc. It’s nice to have the option to wear the set as a suit, as it gives a much more formal look. And of course, I LOVE these shoes! So comfortable, and pretty at the same time! 🙂 xx

  6. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Karen, thank you so much! I think I just can’t resist adding a bright colour to pretty much any outfit I wear! I am very driven and inspired by colour, so of course I had to add a pop of vivid red to this outfit to liven it up a little, haa ha! 🙂

  7. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Jessica!
    I still pretty much hate taking outfit pictures in public, I always feel so super awkward! I am trying to get better at it, and just ‘act’ my way into it, which does seem to help. xx

  8. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Carla,
    Yes! Taking my glasses off really helped when taking these pictures, and I’m sure I remember another occasion when I took my glasses off and I just felt so much freer shooting pictures! Obviously, I could see people, but I couldn’t see if they were actually looking at me, (I am pretty short-sighted, lol!). xxx

  9. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Porcelina, Thanks so much! I think we were lucky with the weather, the fact that we picked a quiet day, and of course the setting for the pictures was really lovely in itself. It’s so frustrating when you plan a shoot, but somehow factors combine to make the pictures not quite work. Thanks goodness things turned out ok for this shoot! 🙂

Share Your Thoughts:

