A Sewing Recap of 2016

Well, we seem to have reached that time of year again – it’s nearly Christmas and the year is rapidly coming to a close. Last year I did a round-up of my favourite sewing projects of 2015, so I thought I would do a little recap of this years sewing.

By the looks of it, I actually completed more garments this year (although for some reason it doesn’t feel that way). The beginning of the year was rather slow, but by April I had signed-up to the Vintage Pledge. Taking part in the Vintage Pledge really gave me some sewing motivation this year, and as a result of this I have challenged myself in new ways. So, without further ado, here are my sewing projects of 2016 *Some items are not included in this list, due to me not getting around to taking pictures of said items*.

Dresses

Whilst last year I think I only made one dress, this year I have made a total of 6 (1 of which is yet to be photographed).

vp1

vp2

I made two dresses based on an original 1920s dress from which I took a pattern. Two Colette Oolongs, one 1960s housedress, and finally one Edwardian gown.

general3

vp8

Now that’s variety for you! Whilst I enjoyed the challenge of the Edwardian dress, I actually am not at all keen on the finished garment.

vp7

But, I am proud of myself for persevering with it, and a big part of sewing is learning from your mistakes and analysing what you would do differently next time.

Skirts

This year I finally got around to drafting a pencil skirt pattern to my measurements, and I love it! I also made two 1930s skirts (again, one of which I haven’t photographed yet).

vp10

Next year I hope to make some lovely 1930s style skirts cut on the bias, and perhaps even some long skirts too.

vp3

Trousers

Kieren did especially well from my sewing skills this year! I made 3 pairs of trousers for him, one of which required meticulous pattern matching.

vp9

I also made one pair of trousers for myself, from an original 1960s pattern. Whilst the fashion of the 1960s is not an era I usually tend to wear, I do love these trousers! I made them pretty much straight after completing my Edwardian dress, and I just love how completely different they are!

vp5

Tops & Blouses

I only made one blouse this year, which was from some original vintage fabric I was lucky enough to find.

vp6

I also made 2 Gable tops by Jennifer Lauren Handmade, both of which are great for a casual vintage style. In addition to these, I made a few more tops from stretch fabrics too (again, most of which have not been photographed).

general2

I also made the No 5 Arhus top by How to do Fashion – and will be making the No 9 Ronne very soon.

Outwear

2016 was the year I ventured into the scary world of outerwear, yikes. I started this adventure by taking on the rather involved project of making Kieren a jacket from an original 1940s pattern. Overall, the jacket turned out well, and I am really proud for pushing myself well beyond my comfort zone.

vp4

A few months after this, I then made my No 4 London Jacket by How to do Fashion. I absolutely LOVED making this jacket! From the fabric, to the straight-forward construction, this jacket turned-out precisely how I had hoped. By this point, I even included more advanced techniques – I fully lined the jacket, incorporated a back facing with fabric label, inserted shoulder pads, and incorporated pockets in a style I had not previously tried.

general

So, that is a total of:

  • 6 Dresses
  • 1 Blouse
  • 3 Jersey Tops
  • 1 Formal Top
  • 2 Jackets
  • 4 Trousers
  • 3 Skirts

Phew! Of these, I think around 9 count towards my Vintage Pledge, with the others being made from modern patterns.

Next year I shall face perhaps my biggest challenge to date – my wedding dress! Yes, I am planning on making my wedding dress. For me, a shop bought dress just wouldn’t feel right, and of course original vintage holds its appeal. But I just feel that the dress would be so much more special to me if I had made it myself! Of course, I may change my mind and have to eat my words.. So, I anticipate that next year will not contain as many sewing projects, as I shall be focusing on my wedding gown (and subsequently my honeymoon attire too!).

With the strong possibility of this being my last blog post of 2016, may I wish you all a very merry Christmas, and a wonderful New Year!

Until next time dears!

 

12 thoughts on “A Sewing Recap of 2016

  1. Porcelina says:

    What a collection!! You really have produced some fabulous items, and wow what a challenge you’re setting for yourself in 2017. The very best of luck with it.

    A quick question on the Gable top – is it slash neck? I can’t quite see. I’m after a slash neck pattern.

  2. Christina says:

    Wowza!! So much sewing! You have created such beautiful garments. I haven’t been as motivated this year as I have in the past. I’m looking forward to a new year full of sewing though!

  3. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Porcelina, Apologies for the delay in my reply! I have the WordPress app, which notifies me of comments – however it doesn’t allow me to reply to any of them! So I have been waiting for a moment to fire-up my laptop & reply! Yes, the Gable top is a slash neck, and it’s a really easy & quick sewing pattern. I have made two versions, the pink one is a lovely wool jersey I got from Sew Over It’s online shop.
    May I take this opportunity to wish you a very Happy New Year! xx

  4. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Christina, thank you my lovely! I’m super excited (and a bit daunted) at the prospect of all my sewing projects for 2017. It will certainly be a busy year! Happy New Year to you, may you have a splendid 2017 xxx

  5. Lauren says:

    You’ve achieved a tremendous amount this year! I am so impressed with your skills. Kieren’s jacket is a particular favorite of mine (I want one just like it for myself!), and your Colette Oolong. I can’t wait to see what you whip up this year!

  6. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Lauren, Thank you!
    Kieren’s jacket was definitely a labour of love, I wanted to give up on it a few times! It was only the thought of Kieren eventually wearing it and enjoying it that kept me going! I am probably not going to get as much sewing done this year, but I think the projects I do undertake will be more considered, and hopefully of better quality. Hope you are well my lovely xx

Share Your Thoughts:

