The No 9 Ronne Sewing Pattern By How To Do Fashion

Firstly, I hope you all enjoyed some wonderful festivities! Kieren and I went away to Bath & Wiltshire for a few days last week, so we took full advantage of both the wonderful selection of shops, and the amazing architecture. For enthusiasts of costume and fashion history, the Fashion Museum in Bath is well worth a visit (or two). Whilst the displays feature a dazzling array of clothing from the 16th century onwards, I was slightly disappointed to see only a mere handful of 1920s and 1930s garments on show. However, their upcoming Lace in Fashion exhibition certainly looks tempting!

A few days before departing for our jolly festive jaunt, I decided to sew the remaining How to Do Fashion pattern that I had yet to make – the No 9 Ronne. I thought the top would be perfectly suited to the grandeur of Bath’s architecture, so I planned to take the top with me (which of course meant that I had some seriously swift sewing to get cracking on with!)

I purchased the fabric back in September from Sew Over It’s online store (incidentally, the fabric is still available here). The print really evokes the late 1930s, and I thought would make the perfect partner to the 1930s inspired Ronne top. I purchased 1.5 metres, which left me with a nice amount in which to make a matching belt. I chose to line the bodice with a fine cotton lawn, which I purchased as a remnant from the brilliant Cloth Spot.

The top features flattering darts and tucks to the front & back, which gives a lovely shape to the waist. The centre front & neck bands finish the edges nicely, and I choose to opt for buttons & buttonholes on these as a fastening rather than the suggested snaps. This choice was mostly made due to me coincidentally having buttons in the exact same shade of yellow in my stash (which I had found at an antique store months previously).

The most time consuming part of this pattern was the gathering of the peplum, as of course it takes a while to gather long lines of stitching, whilst ensuring an even distribution. The sleeves are also gathered, and I didn’t realise until construction that they do not span the entire armhole. Instead, the sleeves finish with a slight gap at the immediate underarm – so you must ensure you finish the armholes neatly at this point as they will be seen. I had actually by pure chance pre-empted this problem, neatly solving it by lining my bodice.

This top is a kind of blouse & jacket in one, which adds to its versatility. I decided to make a matching belt, but the top could be worn equally with or without a belt. Overall, I am happy with how the top turned out. I think I may add handsewn belt loops at some point to ensure the belt stays in place rather than riding up or below the waistline. I think this top would look so beautiful in a silk velvet! It just depends if I am brave enough to work with the stuff..

*This pattern was kindly provided by How to do Fashion in exchange for this review*

The No 9 Ronne pattern is available from How to Do Fashion, for reference I made version 1.

To read my review on the No 4 London pattern, click here.

To read my review on the No 5 Arhus pattern, click here.

Until next time dears!

 

8 thoughts on “The No 9 Ronne Sewing Pattern By How To Do Fashion

  1. Christina says:

    Ooh, this top is so pretty! I have had my eye on this pattern for a while as it is quite versatile in its styling for different decades. The floral fabric works so well with the soft, feminine shape.

  2. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Christina, Thank you! Yes, it is definitely a versatile piece. The peplum could even be tucked-in for a different look too. And the sleeves are so pretty! I am thinking of getting some more of the fabric to make a matching skirt too! xx

  3. Sarah says:

    This blouse looks absolutely gorgeous! Also thank you for introducing me to Sew Over It, they have so many incredibly retro looking fabrics! 🙂

  4. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Sarah, Yes, Sew Over It have lots of beautiful rayon prints, I frequently visit their site and drool over everything! I also got some nice wool jersey from there a few months back too, which is great quality. xx

Share Your Thoughts:

