Hotter Shoes Style Series – Village Brogues for a 1930s Style

Following on from my 1920s piece with Valetta Heels, my next Style Series post for Hotter Shoes features the Village Brogues in a 1930s styled look.

Whilst heels makes me feel feminine and elegant, flat shoes make me feel like I am capable of anything. Combining elements of classic masculine tones, the Village Brogues by Hotter Shoes are the perfect balance of practicality and style.

For this look, I was inspired by simple classic lines of the later 1930s. I chose to wear an original CC41 skirt (which is of course 1940s. But it certainly has elements of 1930s in its central pleat and straight cut).

I teamed the skirt with an original 1930s jacket – THOSE BUTTONS. I was first drawn to the colour of the jacket – because I love yellow. It’s my absolute favourite colour. But then my eyes absorbed the amazing buttons and I was in love.

As the weather was still a tad chilly when we took these pictures, I decided to team the Village Brogues with a pair of cosy cashmere stockings. I recently discovered a wonderful shop on Etsy, Foot Fetish Socks. These particular stockings are hand cranked on a 1900s machine, from a pattern of around the same era. Lately, I tend to prefer stockings rather than any other type of hosiery; as they work so much better with early 20th century lingerie (which is no surprise, as stockings were the main form of hosiery during that era).

Outfit Details

Whilst I have a few pairs of loafers from Hotter Shoes, these are my first pair of brogues. They are so comfortable, my feet felt protected and cushioned all day long! I can definitely see these being a firm favourite, and the chocolate multi tone blends perfectly with many items in my wardrobe.

To read more about the Village Brogues, and to see some of my historical references when putting together this outfit, see my full article over on the Hotter Shoes Blog; It’s a Shoe Thing here.

To view my previous Style Series posts for Hotter Shoes, check out this category here.

Until next time dears!

 

4 thoughts on “Hotter Shoes Style Series – Village Brogues for a 1930s Style

  1. Jenny Frances says:

    Hi Sharon, these are really comfortable too! These ones – the Village style, come in 5 colours. They also have a style called Cornwall which are a brogue too. 🙂 xx

  2. Missy says:

    I adore your retro photos of yourself!
    The buttons are wonderful and make the jacket instantly stylish…

Share Your Thoughts:

